Nestled in a little shopping plaza on the corner of Foothills and Baseline lies Mt. Everest Cuisine. It serves up a flavorful blend of authentic Indian and Nepali foods, along with a few other South Asian favorites.

Radha Bhattarai and her husband Bhuwan, who moved to the United States a little over nine years ago from Nepal, opened Mt. Everest Cusine about two years ago fulfilling a longtime dream of theirs. Bhuwan, who has experience on the culinary side, manages the food behind the kitchen doors, as Radha works towards creating a memorable and personalized experience.

They have created a menu that easily distinguishes one dish from another and allows the customer to choose from a spice range of one to seven when preparing a meal, seven being the spiciest.

Authenic flavor runs supreme here, with various spice levels. p12everest2

Different pallets have different spice tolerances and those who come from the region where this food originates, such as myself, have an unimaginable tolerance to spice. I feel as if I have truly been able to experience well-incorporated spice to such recipes that I don’t have time to often replicate at home.

It also works because people who love the authentic flavor, but cannot tolerate spice at all can easily enjoy any of the specialty dishes without compromising on flavor.

The interior matched the elegant selection on their menu. It was detailed, but simple and classy. The walls were red and beige with paintings and photographs of many signature places near India and Nepal. It made me hungry, but comfortable.

I ordered the chicken kadai, one of Radha’s favorites, along with the chicken korma, which happens to be one of the creamier entrees that they serve.

“I love the kadai. It just has a strong flavor that people like and I like the chow chow too. The momo is also very good, but I make it by myself so that’s also why I’m saying that,” Radha told me as I was gathering my final thoughts.

While we waited for my entrées, she brought out a South Asian staple, papadum, which is a thin, crisp wafer made of gram flour. It looks similar to a tortilla, but much thinner. It is typically served with a green, spicy chutney and a sweet, tamarind chutney.

We also ordered the veggie samosas and the mango lassi. The lassi was just like I remember from Pakistan. It had a heavy yogurt taste that would not only put your stomach to rest, but also ease your soul to all the calm in the world. The added bonus was the sweet mango flavor.

The samosas came out just as we were finishing our papadum. They were good sized and served with the two chutney’s brought earlier.

By this time, I was already beginning to feel full. That’s when our food came out. The entrees were served in beautiful steel dishes along with basmati rice. We ordered naan that came out fresh and buttered, just the way I like it.

The kadai was definitely my favorite. The kadai had a kick, as most do. It’s such an amazing blend of flavors, especially when eaten with the naan. If someone does tend to enjoy creamier dishes, like curries, then the korma is definitely a winner for you. The korma was garnished with cashews and raisins and had a soothing flavor.

We ended the night with a good quantity of leftovers that were just as delicious the next day. My experience was certainly beyond my expectations. This may just be on the top of my list as far as one of the best South Asian places I’ve ever had in Colorado.

“When customers say the quality of our food is amazing, that makes my heart beat. We just try our best,” Radha said.

Hours:
Monday-Friday: 11am-2:30pm, 5-9pm
Saturday: 12-2:30pm, 5-9pm
Sunday: 5-9pm
Delivery:
Daily, 5-9pm
mounteverestcuisine.com

